Science Education Home Home Teachers Students Games Videos VA SOL Programs



The Three Isotopes of Hydrogen - Protium, Deuterium and Tritium

Atoms that have the same number of protons but different numbers of neutrons are called isotopes. The element hydrogen, for example, has three commonly known isotopes: protium, deuterium and tritium.

Citation and linking information

For questions about this page, please contact Steve Gagnon.