Previous Term


Glossary Main Index

Next Term

(Liquid Nitrogen)

Liquid Nitrogen


Leptons are particles with little mass that interact through the electromagnetic and weak forces. There are six known leptons: the electron, the muon, the tau (all with a charge of -1), the electron neutrino, the muon neutrino and the tau neutrino (all without charge). Leptons have a spin of 1/2 and are believed to be fundamental particles.